Recipes

Pinterest Recipe Of The Month(March): Chicken Cream Cheese Pockets

Pinterest Recipe Of The Month

A few times a week I find myself turning to pinterest in hopes of finding the next ‘big hit’ dinner. My family disapproves eating the same meals over and over again.

I am constantly in a struggle locating new recipes that fit our family’s needs. Kaleb, my 4-year-old and I are the picky eaters. No onions, peppers or tomatoes (amongst a massive list of no-no’s). My husband will eat just about anything as long as meat is included.

I used to spend hours upon hours prepping and cooking a nice home cooked meal. I wish I had the time and energy to do such a task, but with two kids it just isn’t there. I need meals that are not only cost efficient and easy to make, but also tasty for everyone.

This month I stumbled across a recipe for Chicken Cream Cheese Pockets from the blog Nums The Word. Talk about a big hit with the family! Not only did my husband and toddler love it, but also my best friend who made a last-minute stop for dinner!
I twisted the recipe a bit to fit our family’s needs, but here it is!

Oh how I wish I would have snagged a picture before we devoured them! Next time I make them I will snap one and insert it for your viewing pleasure!

Prep Time: 5 minutes

Cook Time: 25 minutes

Total Time: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

(2) Cups chicken cooked and pulled
(4) Ounces cream cheese, softened
(4) Tbsp. butter
(1) Can Pillsbury Crescent Rolls ( I recommend more if you have a large family
1/4 Tsp. Pepper
1/2 Tsp. Salt
(1) Can cream of chicken soup
(1) 12 ounce can evaporate milk

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degree
  2. Combine chicken, cream cheese and 2 tbsp.of butter
  3. Lay out a single crescent roll triangle. Stretch it so that it is a bit larger than normal
  4. Place 1/4 of a cup of chicken mixture in the center of a crescent roll. ( I eyeballed it)
  5. Wrap dough around chicken mixture and seal the edges to create a pocket
  6. Do this with each crescent roll
  7. Place in a greased pan
  8. Melt 2 tbsp of butter and brush onto each roll
  9. Bake in oven 20-25 minutes or until golden brown (You are pretty much just baking the roll)
  10. While baking, combine evaporated milk and cream of chicken soup in a pot on the stove on medium heat. Stir to incorporate and cook until simmer.
  11. Turn off heat and allow to cool
  12. Serve chicken cream cheese pockets with dipping sauce

This was a super delicious recipe that was fairly easy to make! The best part? EVERYONE  LOVE IT! My husband went on for a few days about how good it taste and requested I make it again very soon.My toddler even had seconds (that’s rarely a thing around here).
As I mentioned above, I altered the recipe a bit for our family, so here is a link to the original recipe!

Chicken Cream Cheese Pockets

(NOTE: This recipe was adapted originally from Sandy Tippetts from the Laura Bowen Family Cookbook by Num’s The Word)

7 thoughts on “Pinterest Recipe Of The Month(March): Chicken Cream Cheese Pockets

    1. I was reluctant to at first. Then I did not hear the “that was amazing” from my husband until after our guests left for the night. The entire time I was in panic mode wondering if it was good or not. Everyone loved it and it went into my recipe book!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

